So You Think You Can Dance

“So You Think You Can Dance” premiered on FOX in 2005. Unlike ABC’s “Dancing with the Stars,” the series doesn’t feature celebrities competing, but instead gives up-and-coming dancers the chance to shine, much like “American Idol” does with rising singers.

There are typically three rounds, beginning with auditions in different cities. Selected dancers are then invited for “call backs,” before the show goes live later in the season. At that point, viewers at home get to vote for the dancers they want see remain in the competition, and those with the lowest amount of votes are eliminated each week.

The judges have varied over the years, but Nigel Lythgoe has remained a constant on the panel. After eight seasons, Mary Murphy departed from the judges’ table at the end of season 11. She was replaced in 2015 by Jason Derulo and Paula Abdul, who previously served as a judge on “American Idol.”

Currently in its 12th season, the show has debuted a new format in which dancers are divided into “stage” and “street” categories. Nevertheless, everyone has to perform all styles, including ballroom, classical, contemporary, jazz, and more. Cat Deeley remains on board as the series’ host since season 2.

“So You Think You Can Dance” has won nearly a dozen Emmys over the course of its run. Each year the winner receives a cash prize and job opportunities. Stephen ‘tWitch’ Boss reigns as the show’s most successful winner. But with dwindling ratings, it’s unclear how much longer the series will continue.

We've got nothing, sorry. Try searching for stories below.

  1. Gossip Cop
  2. Mediaite
  3. LawNewz