Independent Spirit Awards Winners 2017

Truth rating: 10
Independent Spirit Awards Winners 2017

By Shari Weiss |

Independent Spirit Awards Winners 2017

(Film Independent)

The 2017 Independent Spirit Awards honor the best in independent movies on Sunday, and Gossip Cop has a full list of the winners!

The Film Independent Spirit Awards, now in its 32nd year, recognize U.S.-made films with a production budget of $20 million or less. The ceremony is traditionally held the day before the Oscars. Last year, Spotlight won Best Feature at the Spirit Awards, and then went on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards the very next day.

But the Spirit Awards aren’t always a predictor of what will happen at the Oscars, in part because the nominees vary and because the Spirit Awards winners are chosen by members of Film Independent. The nominees for 2017 were announced in November, with American Honey and Moonlight leading the pack with six nods each. That includes the top prize, Best Feature.

The two movies are competing against Chronic, Jackie, and Manchester By The Sea. In addition to that and acting honors, there are also awards for categories like Best First Screenplay and Best First Feature. The winners are being revealed at a ceremony in Santa Monica, with IFC broadcasting the show live, beginning at 5 p.m. Eastern. Check out the full list of winners below!

Best Feature
Best Director
Barry Jenkins, Moonlight
Best Screenplay
Barry Jenkins and Tarell Alvin McCraney, Moonlight
Best First Feature
Robert Eggers, The Witch
Best First Screenplay
Robert Eggers, The Witch
Best Male Lead
Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
Best Female Lead
Isabelle Huppert, Elle
Best Supporting Male
Ben Foster, Hell or High Water
Best Supporting Female
Molly Shannon, Other People
Best Documentary
O.J.: Made in America
International Film
Toni Erdmann
Best Cinematography
James Laxton, Moonlight
Best Editing
Joi McMillon and Nat Sanders, Moonlight
John Cassavetes Award
Spa Night
Robert Altman Award for Best Ensemble
Someone to Watch Award
Anna Rose Holmer, The Fits
Piaget Producers Award
Jordana Mollick, Hello, My Name Is Doris
Truer Than Fiction Award
Nanfu Wang, Hooligan Sparrow

  1. Gossip Cop
  2. Mediaite
  3. LawNewz