Emma Stone, Eddie Redmayne Invited To Join Academy Of Motion Picture Arts And Sciences — SEE FULL LIST!

Truth rating: 10
Academy Motion Pictures New Members List 2015

By Shari Weiss |

Academy Motion Pictures New Members List 2015

(Getty Images)

Oscar winners, nominees, and other notable actors are among the new crop of stars invited to join the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for 2015.

As Gossip Cop has reported, each year the association selects a new class to be inducted into its various braches. The most known section, of course, is the one for actors, but there’s also groups for everything from cinematographers to publicists. Together, members of the Academy vote on the nominees and winners of the Oscars each year.

After choosing 271 newbies last year, the number has swelled this time around to 322. That includes Eddie Redmayne, who won Best Actor earlier this year, and J.K. Simmons, who took home Best Supporting Actor. Emma Stone, a Best Supporting Actress nominee, is also invited, as are nominees, Rosamund Pike, Felicity Jones, and Benedict Cumberbatch.

Other actors and actresses on the new list include Elizabeth Banks, Daniel Radcliffe, Tom Hardy, Jason Segel, Heather Graham, Dev Patel, and Gugu Mbatha-Raw. Chris Pine, David Oyelowo, Stephen Lang, and Kevin Hart are also among this year’s invited stars. Trent Reznor, who scored Gone Girl, was asked to join the music branch, as were John Legend and Common, who won Oscars earlier this year.

Per tradition, the new members will be celebrated at a reception this fall. In a statement the Academy says, “As filmmaking evolves, so do we. Today we welcome our class of 2015.” TELL US: What do you think of this year’s invitees?


  1. Gossip Cop
  2. Mediaite
  3. LawNewz
  4. The Mary Sue