2014 Independent Spirit Awards Winners!

Truth rating: 10
(Film Independent)

By Shari Weiss


(Film Independent)

The 2014 Independent Spirit Awards were held on Saturday.

While the broadcast won’t come until 10 p.m. on IFC, the ceremony has concluded… and Gossip Cop has the winners list.


Best Feature:
12 Years a Slave

Best Director:
Steve McQueen, 12 Years a Slave

Best Screenplay:
John Ridley, 12 Years a Slave

Best Female Lead:
Cate Blanchett, Blue Jasmine

Best Male Lead:
Matthew McConaughey, Dallas Buyers Club

Best Supporting Female:
Lupita Nyong’o, 12 Years a Slave

Best Supporting Male:
Jared Leto, Dallas Buyers Club

Best First Feature:
Fruitvale Station

Best First Screenplay:
Nebraska, Bob Nelson

John Cassavetes Award:
This Is Martin Bonner

Best Cinematography:
Sean Bobbit, 12 Years a Slave

Best Editing:
Nat Sanders, Short Term 12

Best Documentary:
20 Feet From Stardom

Best International Film:
Blue Is the Warmest Color

Robert Altman Award (given to a film’s director, casting director and ensemble cast): Mud
Piaget Producers Award: Toby Halbrooks & James M. Johnston
Someone to Watch Award: Newlyweeds, Shake King
Truer Than Fiction Award: Let the Fire Burn, Jason Osder

Enter your email address here to receive daily news updates from us.


  1. Gossip Cop
  2. Mediaite
  3. RunwayRiot
  4. The Mary Sue