Independent Spirit Awards 2013 Winners List

(Film Independent)

By Daniel Gates


(Film Independent)

The 2013 Film Independent Spirit Awards are handed out on Saturday, one day before many of the same movies and performers are honored at the Academy Awards.

Andy Samberg is hosting the event, which “celebrates artist-driven filmmaking and recognizes the finest achievements of today’s independent filmmakers.” The ceremony will air on IFC tonight, but Gossip Cop will have the winners as they’re announced earlier in the day. On Sunday, we’ll find out how well the Spirit Awards predicted Oscar gold.

Check out the winners below!

Best First Screenplay – Derek Connolly, Safety Not Guaranteed

Best First Feature – Stephen Chbosky, The Perks Of Being A Wallflower

Best Supporting Male Performance – Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike

Robert Altman Award for Cast EnsembleStarlet

Piaget Producers Award – Mynette Louie, Stones in the Sun

Someone to Watch Award – Adam Leon, Gimme the Loot

Truer Than Fiction Award – Peter Nicks, The Waiting Room

Best International Film – Michael Haneke, Amour

John Cassavetes Award for Under $500,000Middle of Nowhere

Best Supporting Female Performance – Helen Hunt, The Sessions

Best Cinematography – Ben Richardson, Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Screenplay – David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Documentary The Invisible War

Best Director – David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Lead Female Performance – Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook

Best Lead Male Performance – John Hawkes, The Sessions

Best Feature FilmSilver Linings Playbook

Enter your email address here to receive daily news updates from us.


  1. Gossip Cop
  2. Mediaite
  3. RunwayRiot
  4. The Mary Sue