★ What is Gossip Cop? Find out!

UPDATE: Just Taylor Lautner confirmed to be at Scream 2009 Awards

Truth rating: 10

By Michael Lewittes



Last week it was reported elsewhere as fact that Robert Pattinson, Kristen Stewart, and Taylor Lautner were slated to attend Spike TV’s Scream 2009 awards, which airs on October 27.

At the time, we noted it was premature to report exactly who was and wasn’t confirmed. Today Gossip Cop has confirmed – ahead of the pack – that so far from “Twilight” ONLY Taylor Lautner is scheduled to attend the awards show. There will be a world premiere of new footage from “New Moon” as well.

Other celebrities who will be in attendance include at the Scream 2009 Awards include: Anna Paquin, Megan Fox, Tobey Maguire, Liv Tyler, Elijah Wood, J.J. Abrams, Quentin Tarantino, Eli Roth, among others.

Remember to follow us on Twitter for all the latest news – @GossipCop

And check out some of our other stories on!

UPDATE 12:40pm – The full text of Spike TV’s press release just went out. Here are the details:

New York, NY, October 12, 2009 – The stars are aligned for Spike TV’s “SCREAM 2009!”  The 4th annual event commemorating all things sci-fi, fantasy, horror and comic book will feature the hottest films, TV shows, comics, actors, creators, and icons who have influenced and shaped these genres.  “SCREAM 2009” will also feature World Premieres from some of the most anticipated theatrical and television releases.   The show tapes on Saturday, October 17 at the Greek Theatre in Los Angeles, CA and will premiere on Spike TV on Tuesday, October 27 (10:00 PM-Midnight, ET/PT).

Continuing its tradition of presenting World Premiere footage, “SCREAM 2009” will feature “Twilight” star Taylor Lautner as he unveils exclusive footage from “The Twilight Saga: New Moon.” “SCREAM 2009” will debut exclusive content from Martin Scorcese’s upcoming thriller “Shutter Island” starring Leonardo DiCaprio.  SCREAM 2009 will also show a sneak peek of the highly-anticipated new television series “V.”

As previously announced, “SCREAM 2009” will honor the godfather of the modern horror film, George Romero with this year’s Scream Mastermind Award.  Quentin Tarantino has been tapped to present Romero with this prestigious honor.  In addition, the cast of “The Big Bang Theory” including Kaley Cuoco, Johnny Galcecki, Simon Helberg, Kunal Nayyar and Jim Parsons will be on hand to present the “Battlestar Galactica” cast reunion farewell tribute.

Fan favorites added to this year’s star-studded talent roster include Megan Fox, Tobey Maguire, Hugh Jackman, Jennifer Carpenter, Eliza Dushku, Jackie Earle Haley, Jaime King, Sam Raimi, Eli Roth, Liv Tyler, Karl Urban, Elijah Wood, cast members from “The Vampire Diaries” including Nina Dobrev, Ian Somerhalder and Paul Wesley, stars of the upcoming “Cirque Du Freak: The Vampire’s Assistant” featuring Josh Hutcherson, Chris Massoglia and John C. Reilly, “Drag Me To Hell” cast members Reggie Lee, David Paymer, Dileep Rao and Lorna Raver, along with previously announced talent featuring Stan Lee and the cast and creators of “Battlestar Gallactica” and “True Blood.”  Additional guest appearances will be announced shortly.

J.J. Abrams’ sci-fi action-adventure “Star Trek” tops the “SCREAM 2009” list with 17 nominations including the categories of The Ultimate Scream, Best Science Fiction Movie, Best Director, Best Ensemble, Holy Sh*t Scene-of-the-Year and a nod in the all-new Fight-Scene-of-the-Year category.  Comic book-inspired blockbusters “X-Men Origins: Wolverine” and “Watchmen” each nabbed 13 nominations, big screen adaptation of Stephenie Meyer’s best selling novel “Twilight” received 10 nominations, while HBO’s vampire-themed television series “True Blood” garnered nine nominations.  Fans can log onto until Saturday, October 17 to vote for their favorites.

The official sponsors of Spike TV’s “SCREAM 2009” are Taco Bell, Subaru, Geico and Free Credit

Casey Patterson, Michael Levitt and Cindy Levitt serve as executive producers for “SCREAM 2009.”  Greg Sills is supervising producer, Gary Tellalian and Austin Reading are producers and Hamish Hamilton will direct.


  1. Gossip Cop
  2. Mediaite
  3. Styleite
  4. The Mary Sue
  5. The Braiser
CloseSubscribe to Gossip Cop's newsletter: